Last night at the Barbican

Ok, this isn’t technically theatre but I have to share the great time I had at the LSO’s concert at the Barbican last night.

First of all, it was a mixed age crowd at the nearly sold out concert (I often feel the youngest at these events) and I was pleased to see a number of ‘studenty’ types for whom music was far more important last night than joining their peers in Parliament Square.

The ochestra itself, led by Antonio Pappano, was energectic and stirring in equal measure. I loved their rendition of Arvo Part’s Fratres. Part is not someone I have heard of before but the LSO certainly introduced him in style.

While I couldn’t watch Simon Trpceski’s fingers actually play the piano, watching his facial expressions during the Rachmaninov piano concerto no. 1 was sheer delight. I’ve never seen him live before but he made everyone feel warm and fuzzy. He is truly a gifted musician.

At the end of the concert, at the customary applause and thank yous, the orchestra was certain that the audience would want an encore but, much to its disappointment, the audience started dispersing after 5 minutes. Forget encores, we wanted to get home safely on a night like last night.

Our own journey home was somewhat marred by the student protests but I had Arvo Part’s music playing in my head.

About manipillai

Oh, just a few of my thoughts on theatre.
This entry was posted in Contemporary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.